Death and a Scare !!

Everybody wonders about the day they die. The day, they leave earth and never return. Will it be a rainy day or a bright sunny day? Will our clothes be of rainbow colors or a dull grey? Will we be in love, full of life, zest and vitality? Or will it be a day filled with heart ache and heart break? A day, our hearts are clutched with pain and despair. Will we have our families around us? Or will we be alone on a dark road with shadows of our past creeping fast upon us? Will we be young and strong? or Will it be in our old age? With experiences and memories of the life we have lived clouding our brains, then we will wonder if we lived a fulfilled life, one where we had pursued our dreams and had taken bold steps for love and humanity or a life devoid of happiness, friendship and loyalty. Will our loved ones wail, tear their hair and shed never ending tears of our departure? Or will they lie back, stretch their legs, crack their knuckles, heaving sighs of relief that you’re finally gone?

All these I asked myself as I braced for the impact of the 2kilotonne mini truck headed my way at break neck speed.

It’s a long ride,takes about an hour, and when you’re driving alone it feels like it takes three. But that dreadful day was different. I must have been doing 100KMPH for all I remember. Still, I just couldn’t get there fast enough.

I need to finish this…….finish the errands as fast as I can, I promised I had call her soon.

Which will she prefer? The red purse or the brown calvin klein leather wallet? Did she miss me or not, should I get her the perfume or the music player……I continued playing 21 questions in my head.

I eased pressure off the accelerator as I approach the bend, my favorite bend on the long damp road, its breath taking when you negotiate it at 100KMPH, but today was different….I swore off that after the last crash.

I saw it from afar….a pair of dim headlights, No….this can’t be right I said to myself… its a ‘One Way’ access !!! Did he not see the no Right turn sign or he chose to ignore it?

I pressed hard on the brakes….but this somehow seem to have no effect what so ever…..there he was speeding down the wrong lane without a care in the whole wide world!!!

If this is it, when do I have my Epiphany…….the one where your life flashes before you…….Oh God not this way, at least let me say goodbye…..she’s been through so much already, so much death !!!

You are crazy dude…..the tiny voice in my head said…..you’re about to breathe your last and you still won’t let go of her; just before the collusion….I whispered “The red purse it is”

Then I heard it…..Tyre screeches, brake squealing, glass shattering, metal tearing metal………I heard it all but felt nothing, cause at that moment I felt the familiar tug of my seat belt as the air bag deployed to envelope me in its ample bosom while the car was spinning in circles……

Shhh…..Silence, and then more silence….if this is HEAVEN then its one HELL of a short ride.

Wait, this can’t be heaven…….its vaguely familiar…..I’ve been here before…..plus it smells funny too, but why is it so bright? I tried to focus but the pain won’t let me……this place reeks of antiseptic and chlorine bleach.

Welcome back…..you gave her such a scare!! ……the petite nurse said.

You’ve been gone for 3 hours ……. She walked out of the ward.

One look at her face and I knew I have put her through agony…….

10 thoughts on “Death and a Scare !!

  1. i felt transported/teleported to the drivers seat of this story… and the car being driven…in the breathless short period it took for me to read this. quite a vivid description of a very mind twisting scene. still yet to catch my breath and fully understand though,.. was this supposed to be a recollection of the accident from the hospital bed, or from the accident to the hospital bed? priori or posteriori… either way, its a fascinating short story. biggups

  2. Thats one helluva way to descibe the accident. Ure a very Talented and creative writer…
    U really should write a book….

    Back to reality..

    Were u doing 100kmph? Thats fast! Im sure if asked if U were speeding, U would say”…honest to God NO!” Lol.

    Back to Blog…

    If this is real, U really Love this chic. Thots of her made U loose concentration if U ask me.
    If this isnt real, oh well…. Who wouldnt want to be her???? *sighs*

    Ermmm, good thing U didnt go into the white light tho… LOOL

    • Gracias….my Fairlady, ur comment means a lot. Hmmmm…the Girl in the story, Fiction or Fact, I guess time will tell

  3. I knew it before dat you ar always a JAMESBOND wen driven,am glad it happen dis way before you own ur pesonnel ride it wil always be a flash bck in your mind when speeding on 100.luck you dudu taught you are a man neva no that you ar jst a boy trying to like me!!!were did you leave your arm break turn is SADIQUE not close to teach you?luck you ones more that you make it bck to world the story wil hav just be were YINkA……is no more?sorry you

  4. Really don’t know wat yu are waiting for,dis needs to be published.am not dat into reading but dis I really luv.am not surprised always known u av got dis talent dat will take yu places.dis is one HELL of a memoir it culd use editing anyways(not perfect).now yu got me thinkn of when I wil die but I hope I will be like as lucky as girl dat got all ur thoughts.

  5. Death…I’m too fascinated by it..some think I may be suicidal…
    I liked it! Very much
    I wanted it a bit more dramatic tho…like did the car go vertical? Did he bruise?

    What strikes me most..is the last line… Dude is bedridden and still says he’s caused her agony?

    That’s some level of deep..

    Ps – edit again?

Leave a Reply

